Krishna’s Mystic Opulence – 2

Lord Krishna tells Arjuna about His mystic opulence in the soul-stirring discourse contained in Srimad Bhagavad Gita.

(This is from Srila Prabhupada’s writings, which is available here.) [These 3 verses are from Chapter 9.]

 

[17] I am the father of this universe, the mother, the support and the grandsire. I am the object of knowledge, the purifier and the syllable oḿ. I am also the Ṛg, the Sāma and the Yajur Vedas.


[18] I am the goal, the sustainer, the master, the witness, the abode, the refuge, and the most dear friend. I am the creation and the annihilation, the basis of everything, the resting place and the eternal seed.


[19] O
Arjuna, I give heat, and I withhold and send forth the rain. I am immortality, and I am also death personified. Both spirit and matter are in Me.

 

Samskritam

BGchap9_2

 

Sanskrit

[17]pitāham asya jagato
mātā dhātā pitāmahah
vedyaḿ pavitram oḿkāra
rk sāma yajur eva ca

[18]gatir bhartā prabhusākshī
nivāsaśaranaḿ suhrt
prabhavapralayasthānaḿ
nidhānaḿ bījam avyayam

[19]tapāmy aham ahaḿ varshaḿ
nigrhnāmy utsrjāmi ca
amrtaḿ caiva mrtyuś ca
sad asac cāham arjuna

 

2 Responses to Krishna’s Mystic Opulence – 2

  1. Sharadh says:

    Regarding Verse 17: It is interesting that He does not include Atharva Veda.

  2. tkramesh says:

    I don’t know the reason for that. But, yes it is interesting.🙂

Leave a Reply

