Quotes on the Joys of Reading – 2

No matter how busy you may think you are, you must find time for reading, or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance. (Confucius)

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it. I must soon lay it down, and commence living on its hint. What I began by reading, I must finish by acting. (Henry David Thoreau)

A man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people. (Will Rogers)

The reading of all good books is like a conversation with the finest minds of past centuries. (Descartes)

Don’t ask me who’s influenced me. A lion is made up of the lambs he’s digested, and I’ve been reading all my life. (Charles de Gaulle)

When I get a little money, I buy books; and if any is left, I buy food and clothes. (Erasmus)

I often feel sorry for people who don’t read good books; they are missing a chance to lead an extra life. (Scott Corbett)

Force yourself to reflect on what you read, paragraph by paragraph. (Samuel Taylor Coleridge)

The best effect of any book is that it excites the reader to self activity. (Thomas Carlyle)

It is well to read everything of something, and something of everything. (Lord Henry P. Brougham)

Books are not made for furniture, but there is nothing else that so beautifully furnishes a house. (Henry Ward Beecher)

He that loves a book will never want a faithful friend, a wholesome counselor, a cheerful companion, an effectual comforter. By study, by reading, by thinking, one may innocently divert and pleasantly entertain himself, as in all weathers, as in all fortunes. (Barrow)

Read not to contradict and confute; nor to believe and take for granted; nor to find talk and discourse; but to weigh and consider. Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested: that is, some books are to be read only in parts, others to be read, but not curiously, and some few to be read wholly, and with diligence and attention. (Francis Bacon)

I‘ve traveled the world twice over,
Met the famous; saints and sinners,
Poets and artists, kings and queens,
Old stars and hopeful beginners,
I’ve been where no-one’s been before,
Learned secrets from writers and cooks
All with one library ticket
To the wonderful world of books. (Anonymous)

Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man far better than through mortal friends. (Dawn Adams)

Leave a Reply

