Sanskrit Lesson 6 – Conversation

Here is a simple conversation in Sanskrit.

My name is Mohan. = मम नाम मोहनः अस्ति |

What is your name? = तव नाम किम् अस्ति ?

My name is Ram. = मम नाम रामः अस्ति |

I go to school everyday. = अहं प्रतिदिनं विद्यालयं गच्छामि |

Do you go to school?=  किं त्वं विद्यालयं गच्छसि ?

I also go to school for studying. = अहम् अपि पठनार्थम् विद्यालयं गच्छामि |

I will go to the playground in the evening.= अहं सायंकाले क्रीडाक्षेत्रं गच्छामि |

I will also come. = अहम् अपि आगमिष्यामि |

I will go with Ram. = अहं रामेण सह गमिष्यामि |

Let’s have a look at a few new words that we learnt here.

मम = my

तव = your

नाम = name

प्रतिदिनं = everyday

किम् त्वं = Do you?

पठनार्थम् = for studying

सायंकाले = in the evening

अपि = also

रामेण सह = with Ram

The last phrase above : रामेण सह is actually interesting and very common. The word सह means “with”. Its usage is as follows.

I go with Mohan. = अहं मोहनेन सह गच्छामि |

I go with Sita. = अहं सीतया सह गच्छामि |

I go with the boy. =  अहं बालकेन सह गच्छामि |

I go with the girl. = अहं बालिकया सह गच्छामि |

Now, the word for “boy” in Sanskrit is बालकः , while the word for “girl” is  बालिका .

Just like the phrase for “with Mohan” is “मोहनेन सह”, similarly the phrase for “with the boy” is “बालकेन सह” .

Again, the phrases for “with Sita” = “सीतया सह”, and “with the girl” = “बालिकया सह” are very similar.

At this stage, we have learnt quite a bit of conversational Sanskrit ( always nice to be optimistic🙂 ).

Let us see some more sentences using the words we have learnt (and some new ones).

My name is Sita. = मम नाम सीता अस्ति |

My friend’s name is Mohan.= मम मित्रस्य नाम मोहनः अस्ति |

I drink water.= अहं जलं पिबामि |

My friend also drinks water.=  मम मित्रम् अपि तोयं पिबति |

The monkey falls.= वानरः पतति |

She is a girl.= सा बालिका अस्ति |

She is also clever.= सा चतुरा अपि अस्ति |

He is clever. = सः चतुरः अस्ति |

New words that we saw in the above set of sentences:
मित्रम् = friend (Note that मित्रम् is neuter gender in Sanskrit. Doesn’t matter whether the friend is a boy or a girl. )
वानरः = monkey (वानरः, on the other hand, is masculine.)

Now this one’s interesting:
clever = चतुरः (for masculine), and चतुरा (for feminine). Thats why we have, चतुरः बालकः  and चतुरा बालिका.

End of lesson. Enjoy.

One Response to Sanskrit Lesson 6 – Conversation

  1. chari says:

    nice. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

